HISTORY OF CIPEG

CIPEG-Meeting: Hannover / Hildesheim 2008

Rolf Gundlach (special informations by Regine Schulz) *"25 years of CIPEG"*

<u>**CIPEG</u>** = **C**omité internationale de l'ICOM **p**our l'**Ég**yptologie</u>

Prehistory :	1968-1977	membership CIDOC (Comité internationale de l'ICOM pour la documentation): Rolf Gundlach, Arne Eggebrecht;
Foundation:	1977	 ICOM General Conference St. Petersburg/Moskau (Arne Eggebrecht, Rolf Gundlach): a) Application for founding a special Committee for Egyptology in ICOM b) Strong opposition to this application by the International Committee for Archaeology and History
	1980	c) Refusal by the ICOM Executive Council. Meeting of the IAE working group "Museums and Collections": the text for the re-application to ICOM was concluded
	1980	ICOM General Conference Mexico-City (Arne Eggebrecht) Re-application, rejected a second time.
	ca. 1980	Meeting of the International Committee for Archaeology and History in Munich (our representative: Dietrich Wildung): still strong opposition by the committee.
	1981	 Meeting of the Advisory Committee and of the Executive Council of ICOM in Paris: Once more: application for establishing a special Committee for Egyptology (Arne Eggebrecht and Rolf Gundlach) a) Decision taken in favour of our application by the Advisory Committee (chairperson: Herbert GansImayr) against the opposition of the International Committee for Archaeology and History b) Decision taken by the ICOM Executive Council: Founding an "Ad-hoc Committee for Egyptology"
	1982	First official meeting at the IAE Congress in Toronto and New York
	1983	ICOM General Conference London (Arne Eggebrecht, Rolf Gundlach, Joachim Karig etc.): Decision taken by the ICOM Executive Council: Conversion of the "Ad-hoc Committee for Egyptology" into a normal "ICOM International Committee for Egyptology". Our basic aim: Close Contact between Universities, Museums and Research Institutes

HISTORY OF CIPEG

CIPEG-Meeting: Hannover / Hildesheim 2008

History:	1983-1989	(two periods) Chairperson: Arne Eggebrecht
		Secretary: Rolf Gundlach
		Elections in London and Buenos Aires
	1989-1995	(two periods) Chairperson: Hans Schneider
		Secretary: Maarten Raven
		Elections in Leiden and St. Petersburg/Moskau
	1995-2001	(two periods) Chairperson: Rita Freed
		Secretary: Regine Schulz
		Elections in Starvanger and Melbourne
	2001-2007	(two periods) Chairperson: Regine Schulz
		Secretary: 1st period: Krzysztof Grzymski
		2nd period: Joanna Aksamit
		Elections in Barcelona and Grenoble
	2001	Barcelona: Arne Eggebrecht/Rolf Gundlach permanent
	2001	co-opted members of the board
	2007	Chairperson: Claire Derriks
	2001	Secretary: Gabriele Pieke
		Election in Vienna

CIPEG Meetings

1977	Moscow (General Conference of ICOM)
	Application for the foundation of an independent Committee of Egyptology
	in ICOM failed.
1978	Hildesheim
1979	Grenoble (International Conference of the IAE)
	Meeting of the working group "Museums and Collections)
1980	• Vienna (Meeting of the "Museums and Collections" Working group of the IAE
	Decision for reapplication to ICOM
	Mexico-City (General Conference of ICOM)
	• Reapplication for the foundation of a Committee of Egyptology in ICOM failed again.
1981	Paris (Executive Council meeting of ICOM)
	Reapplication and acceptance of an Ad-hoc-Committee of Egyptology in ICOM
	Bruxelles (meeting of the CAA-Committee, the "Museum and Collections section
	of the IAE"
	Creation of an ICOM-Ad-hoc Committee of Egyptology in ICOM
1982	Toronto (IAE Congress) /New York
1983	London (General Conference of ICOM)
	Transformation of the Ad-hoc Committee of Egyptology in ICOM in a full International
	Committee of Egyptology called CIPEG
1984	Uppsala
1985	Munich
1986	Buenos Aires (General Conference of ICOM) and Hildesheim
1987	Hildesheim
1988	Cairo (International Conference of the IAE)
1989	The Hague (General Conference of ICOM)
1990	Budapest
1991	Moscow/Leningrad
1992	Turin (International Conference of the IAE) / Quebec and Toronto
	(General Conference of ICOM)
1993	Geneva
1994	Madrid

HISTORY OF CIPEG

CIPEG-Meeting: Hannover / Hildesheim 2008

- 1995 Starvanger/Leiden (General Conference of ICOM)
- 1996 Cambridge (International Conference of the IAE) / Boston
- 1997 Vienna
- 1998 Morlanwelz/Melborne (General Conference of ICOM)
- 1999 Mariemont
- 2000 Cairo (International Conference of the IAE) / Bucarest
- 2001 Barcelona (General Conference of ICOM)
- 2002 Warsaw
- 2003 Baltimore
- 2004 Grenoble (International Conference of the IAE) / Seoul (General Conference of ICOM)
- 2005 Alexandria
- 2006 Budapest
- 2007 Wien (General Conference of ICOM)
- 2008 Rhodes (International Conference of the IAE) / Hanover-Hildesheim